Contract awardedConstruction training

Essential Site, Plant and Equipment Training - Lots 2,3,4,5 & 7

Delivery of a multi-lot training programme covering chainsaw and arboriculture, confined space entry with mobile simulators, heavy plant and machinery operation, lifting and winching, MEICA electrical safety, site management, vegetation control, and vocational driver CPC training. The contract requires both novice and refresher courses to maintain workforce competency for flood and coastal asset maintenance and incident response, with specific requirements for on-site delivery and adherence to industry-standard certifications.

Awarded value
£5.4m
As published
Published
28 March 2025
Contract length
34 months
Ends 27 November 2028

What the contract covers

Training services

Provision of specialist technical, safety, and vocational training for operational field teams, including plant, machinery, and incident response certification.

  • Deliver professional-standard chainsaw operations and tree management training structured across Level 2 and Level 3 awards
  • Train operations field teams for routine maintenance and incident response activities on standing and fallen timber in all conditions, including chainsaw maintenance, cross-cutting, powered pole pruners, tree felling and processing, in-channel obstruction removal and chainsaw use on floating platforms
  • Deliver 6160 City and Guilds Accredited water-based confined space entry and rescue courses
  • Deliver Confined Space Awareness for Managers and Supervisors – R87 training for staff entering culverts, penstocks, flow control structures and pumping station wet wells
  • Deliver novice and refresher training in safe digging under EUSR standards to locate and manage utility services
  • Deliver training in the use and inspection of fall-arrest harnesses, ladders, scaffold towers and working-at-height equipment
  • Deliver training on hand tools, circular and band saws, and abrasive wheels
  • Deliver training covering the use of heavy plant and machinery for construction and agricultural operations and the organisation’s operational and response work
  • Enable Environment Agency Field Operations staff to operate heavy plant and machinery to a safe, effective and efficient standard
  • Deliver lifting and winching training for agricultural and forestry operations and the organisation’s operational and response work
LotEstimated valueSMEs
Lot 1Not statedNot stated
Lot 2Not statedNot stated
Lot 3Not statedNot stated
Lot 4Not statedNot stated
Lot 5Not statedNot stated
Lot 6Not statedNot stated
Lot 7Not statedNot stated
Lot 8Not statedNot stated
Lot 9Not statedNot stated

Terms and requirements

Contract type
Training services
Procedure
Open procedure
Initial term
36 months
Extensions
12 months + 12 months
Longest it can run
60 months
Contract dates
12 January 2026 to 27 November 2028
Certifications asked for
City and Guilds, EUSR, NRSWA, SMSTS, SSSTS, DCPC, DVSA Earned Recognition
Lots
9
Suitable for SMEs
Yes
Suitable for charities and social enterprises
Yes
Category
Services
CPV codes
80510000, 80511000, 80531200, 80560000

Services in this contract

Lifecycle

  1. Published
  2. Contract awardedto KNW Training, T Kirk Forestry and Intertrain
  3. Contract starts
  4. Contract ends
The buyer

Environment Agency

Type
Locked
Contracts, 24 months
Locked
Recorded value
Locked
Typical contract
Locked
Construction training contracts, 24 months
Locked
Buys mostLocked
Contact details
Email
Locked
Website
Locked
Address
Locked
See everything Environment Agency buys
The suppliers

KNW Training

Contracts won, 24 months
Locked
Value won, 24 months
Locked

T Kirk Forestry

Contracts won, 24 months
Locked
Value won, 24 months
Locked

Intertrain

Contracts won, 24 months
Locked
Value won, 24 months
Locked
See everything they have won

Similar construction training contracts and prices

3 construction training contracts were awarded in London in the last 24 months. See who won them and what they went for, next to this one.

See who won them →

Cite this contract

Link
https://bidskim.com/tender/320061/essential-site-plant-and-equipment-training-lots-2-3-4-5-and-7
Buyer reference
ocds-h6vhtk-04fa18
Open contracting ID
ocds-h6vhtk-04fa18
Last checked
5 November 2026

Environment Agency. Essential Site, Plant and Equipment Training - Lots 2,3,4,5 & 7. Contract award, 28 March 2025. BidSkim, https://bidskim.com/tender/320061/essential-site-plant-and-equipment-training-lots-2-3-4-5-and-7 (accessed 5 November 2026).